RSS

Its been a while…

04 Mar

So I’ve been working on some battlers (recolors really) to match some sprites from Relaxed Chillin.  Here’s one:

Find the other 7 that I made here.

I’ve been busy planning a small family vacation to Denver.  We’re going to the Natural Science Museum, the Aquarium, Butterfly Pavilion, etc.  Just a couple days, but it should be informative and fun.

It looks like I haven’t been the only busy one lately though because the blogs just started pouring out stuff again.  Let’s take at look at the notable ones:

Yami has started her engine with the first entry Patch System.  To be honest I’m not exactly sure how this works or what it’s for, but I also haven’t really tried it yet.  This is probably one of those things that I will try one day and wonder why I wasn’t using it before.

Molegato has made a few really nifty scripts my favorite recently is Multiple Turns.  This script uses agility to determine extra turns which I find really nice.  I may just not bother with any CTB if it conflicts with this because I find this to be more important.  He also made a battle music script that allows you to use one music track for selecting commands and another while the actions happening, its called Command BGM.  Yet another that will most likely have a lot of uses is Event Info Window.  This window show up when you get close to an event and with the right creativity this can be used for quite a bit of awesomeness.

Speaking of event windows, Yanfly posts about Gab Window.  I’ve actually seen this used in an RPG Maker project and it was hilariously applied.

Fomar0153 is making a script everyday to celebrate the release of Ace (International/ English Edition).  Just go to his blog.  Now I feel the need to mention some highlights:

  • Aeon Party which released today lets you simulate an aeon summon ala FFX or some of the Breathe of Fires, where the Aeon replaces the party and fights until dead or released.
  • Extra Traits/ Feature on Level Up, which is a passive states script, but it only reads the infomation in the Trait section which can be better for some and I have theory of sorts I need to playtest with this one.
  • Individual Equipment needs to be mentioned because I’ve seen lots of requests for this, but most said it would be too much to code.  This screen shot explains what it does plus highlights the first add-on Equipment levels up :

Lastly, I just wanted to point out this really promising project Happy Farm.  Its a Harvest Moon inspired game and looks very nice.  My wife loves the Harvest Moon games so if it gets completed my wife will be playing this for sure.

Until next time, see ya.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in Graphics

 

8 responses to “Its been a while…

  1. molegato

    March 4, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Heh, the battlers look interesting, even if they’re only recolors. I could not help but laught loud as hell with the pink one.

     
    • infamous bon bon

      March 4, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Yeah I meant to state that they are only recolors. I love the pink one too. In my game I will probably make it the strongest, just to mess with people.

       
      • molegato

        March 5, 2012 at 8:35 am

        AWESOME! Show’em how manly a pink knight can be!

         
  2. Fomar0153

    March 4, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    “Now I feel the need to mention some highlight”
    But you mentioned everything I’ve done in March, not that I’m complaining.
    Feel free to make some suggestions I don’t have enough on my list at the moment to make it to March 15th let alone March 31st.

     
    • infamous bon bon

      March 4, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Good point hadn’t that of that. I kind of meant from my last post, but I still mentioned most. D’oh.

      I got a couple ideas at the moment:

      The ability for a skill to ignore the Attack (or any stat I suppose) of a weapon (or equipment in general) so that you can have the character just punch or kick without the weapon artificially enhancing the attack.

      If you are up for it, maybe some visual changes for the Item Processing event command that would be optional with a variable or switch depending. Like changing the alignment from horizontal to vertical. Allow pictures in it or change the window background. List items individually without quantities showing or as small numbers on top of the icon. Sometimes the standard screen is good, but sometimes different configurations add a nice visual appeal. Choosing just one configuration for the whole game limits it’s potential.

       
      • Fomar0153

        March 7, 2012 at 2:15 pm

        The only script I’ve ever really done that was eye candy was my animated battlers script. I’m not really into those types of scripts.
        Anyway here’s a barehand script. http://cobbtocs.co.uk/wp/?p=177

         
      • infamous bon bon

        March 7, 2012 at 9:20 pm

        Yeah, I don’t blame you after typing all of that I realized how ridiculously “eye candy” it was, but I figured I already typed it, why not?

        But the barehand script is nice even if its really short and it seems easy to use.

        Thank you.

         

Leave a Reply

 
