RSS

A little late…

22 Feb

I wanted to have this done by last weekend, but blah blah excuse excuse.  It’s not really important.

These two ideas use Fomar0153’s Improved Item Processing script that allows you to assign which items are in any Item Selection Processing event command screen, this flexibility allows you to use it for very specific purposes.

Now the obvious use is to clean up puzzles.  Like when the player goes to open a door, you could limit the choices to keys/ keycards and/ or battering rams/ explosives, instead of all their Important Items.

Another wonderful use is to allow the player to select items that have various effects in the item menu or in battle and instead have them perform some kind of event.  Like using a potion (that the player could normally heal party members with) on hurt villagers and it uses up the potions in the players inventory.  Because it displays how many are in the players inventory quickly and easily, the player can make an informed decision without as much work on the programmers side.

Although good uses of this script these were not the ideas I was alluding to earlier, what I meant were these:

First, there’s the Pick Screen.  This allows you to show items inside objects.  Instead of the player just rummaging through barrels and bedside drawers and getting the useful item the player will be forced to decide which items they want to look at or interact with.  It adds a little depth to the players activities. This can be used for puzzles or various other things (my mind wants to use this for a variety of comedic moments).

Then, there’s the Item Selection Menu.  This is used for common events that you want the player to use in the field with a bit more flexibility.  This allows the player to be able to quickly access maps or tools, instead of having to go into the Main Menu, go into the Item Menu, choose Important Items, then pick the item to run its common event.  I like the Important Items section of the Item Menu, but I think it works best for displaying the item’s description and that’s about it.  The Item Menu covers the screen, which covers up what the player is doing in the game.  It just doesn’t seem natural to me.  To achieve this I’ve decided to use Yanfly’s Button Common Events.  By simply hitting the assigned key you can bring up the Item Selection Menu with all the applicable items, thus saving the player a lot of time and frustration.  As an option I’ve included a way to assign keys to items, so the player can save more time and frustration by just hitting the key for the item instead of having to select it from a menu each time.

In the rough and tumble world of RPG Maker:

Division Heaven now has scripts.  I was checking some out and I really liked the Quick Travel and Battleback Stretch.

Yanfly posts about LTP:  Mathematics.  Another fun Lunatic Package and the picture is great.  Also posted was the JP Manager, which I really like.  The best part is that it is separated from everything else making it much easier to work with.

Yami keeps updating her CTB.  If you haven’t checked it out yet, you should.  CTB has always been my preference for battle systems.

Molegato renames his comic Party Plz.  This is a pretty funny comic and well drawn.  Check out all of them.

Crimexx has started a new blog.  He has been working on improving his Professions Event System.  I’m always happy to see more eventers in this praise the scripters world.

Victor Sant lets us know that the Animated Battlers script he has been working on is almost ready for full publication.  The video of it in action is almost enough to make me want to spend the hours I know it would take to fully utilize this (I’ve been trying to stay away from side-view because it always eats up all my time and nothing else ever gets done).

Fomar0153 has been really active lately.  Three scripts have really caught my eye lately.  Equipment Requirements will definitely have some uses for a lot of people.  The Albhed Translator is really cool,  me and my friends spent a lot of time translating Albhed in Final Fantasy X and this brought back a lot of good memories.  The Clone Actor script is an interesting concept, I can’t think of any ideas for using this at the moment, but you never know, so I’m glad the option is available.

Hope you enjoy, see ya

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Random Stuff, RPG Maker, Script Use

 

3 responses to “A little late…

  1. crimexx

    February 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Thanks for mentioning me in your Blog!! 🙂

     
    • infamous bon bon

      February 23, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Thanks for making systems for people to use plus its nice to see people blogging. This my first blog and I’m having a lot more fun with it than I thought I would.

       

Leave a Reply

 
