RSS

Growing up 8-Bit

01 Feb

So a co-worker and I were discussing how boring Final Fantasy I is.

I was making the point, that at the time it was released, it was awesome (I got it for Christmas the year it came out).

It was far superior to Dragon Warrior (Dragon Quest in Japan). In Dragon Warrior you only had one character and the battle interface was like the DBS in RPG Maker VX/ Ace. Final Fantasy was so cool because you had 4 characters from the get go that you also got to choose their class (which were pretty distinct from one another) and a really basic sideview battle system.

They both had extremely long and boring dungeons were every floor looked the same and an abundance of annoying random encounters. Also both gave you little to no help on were the hell you were suppose to go or what you were suppose to be doing.

But the thing is with Final Fantasy there were some pretty memorable moments. I still remember getting through the super hard ruined castle to fetch the Rat Tail (to this day I don’t know why there was a Rat Tail in a treasure chest) to get the upgrade for all your classes which was totally worth it. Also it was badass that the final boss was Garland (the first boss only upgraded) and Warmech was a brutal hidden boss too. That’s a lot to remember about a game I played over 20 years ago. I don’t remember much about Dragon Warrior except that they gave you a free copy with your Nintendo Power subscription (which was handy since my copy got destroyed in a fire).

But back to my original point. Over the years the bar has certainly been raised on RPG design. Compared to newer games a lot of the games I loved when I was a kid just plain suck. But their are some that are still just as fun because, even though they have graphics that make the RTP in RPG Maker look revolutionary in comparison, they have great stories, interesting characters, and some great gameplay mechanics.

Let’s take Final Fantasy VI (Final Fantasy III on SNES) for example because I’ve been playing it with my kids lately.

In the graphics department there isn’t any face sets in the message boxes (just the name of the speaker) and no wicked cool CG cut scenes, but where it shined was the character sprites. They blushed, laughed, panicked, sighed, threw the hands in the air, etc. and these expressions were done well enough that even my 6 year old daughter understood their meaning immediately.

When it comes to gameplay mechanics this game really loaded you with options. Every character had a unique abilty: Locke could steal, Sabin had an button input ability that was reminiscent of fighting games, Gau could emulate enemies, Celes’ Runic could absorb spells, Go-Go could copy the last attacks, and so on. The party was constantly being split into separate groups that you could switch between easily and it served a multitude of purposes like defending somebody from an army of bad guys and puzzles. They even split the group up so each group could achieve story goals simultaneously. There’s more, but this is getting long.

The characters. Man the characters were so good. Most NPC had their own problems that had nothing to do with the player characters. The Espers (the summons in this game) were even given distinct personalities that made me really appreciate the sacrifices they made. The player characters were varied on their depth, but they were never nameless nobodies. Oh yeah, and Kefka (the big bad guy) was nuts. Also some of the characters were hidden and getting them was completely optional.

The story had so many things going for it too. Depending who was in your party when you went to certain locations you could get little snippets of their past and sometimes this led to great items or abilities. If you are too slow in one part of the game one of your characters permanently dies. And the biggest story hook the bad guy wins and pretty much destroys the world as you know it and your left with most of the world a wasteland and that’s only halfway through the game.

This game was on SNES and should be the bar for a game made on RPG Maker. All of this stuff can be achieved with the Maker.

Final Fantasy I sucks not because it wasn’t made right at the time, its that they got so much better later on and its few good points became standard. The graphics aren’t a factor because Final Fantasy VI’s graphics are terrible compared to even PS1 games, but its still a hell of a good time.

But my overall point is this: now that we have played some amazing RPGs you can’t make a Final Fantasy I, you’ve got to make at least a Final Fantasy VI cause if I can play it 20 years later and still enjoy it, that’s a damn good game.

Here’s something fun for those who took the time to read that or just scrolled down.

This song is by the hilarious Your Favorite Martian.  Warning:  Some Crude Humor and Cartoon Violence.

Elsewhere in the World of RPG Maker:

noob keeps making hilarious comics about RPG Maker.  These two about RTP haters make me sad because there really is asses who feel this way.  Check them out:  RTP Autoscore and RTP Hate.

Ramiro keeps updating the his RBS and I like that you can use a lot with the DBS like the Combo Window.

Yanfly posts about the Event Window which is damn useful especially in heavy treasure games.

And Nessiah keeps making the RTP better and better with Monsters.

Till my next rant, see ya.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Random Stuff, Video Games

 

8 responses to “Growing up 8-Bit

  1. Ramiro

    February 1, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Well I grown in the snes era, but you know a 6 year old boy from america where games don’t come in your or they didin’t at those times.
    So i played Donkey Kong country (all of them) or mario games.
    I didn’t play any RPG since my english knowledge were better, or when some of them comes in spanish (like pokemon, and a 9 year old boy in 1999, loved pokemon)
    So I really started with RPGS when I were 13,when I played Golden Sun, so formally it’s my first RPG.
    Then I started to play old games, like Chronno trigger, the FF remixes for GBA.
    I didn’t grown in the 8 bit era, I am from the 16 bit era.
    I hate GC games, they are not games, the start to be movies D:
    But yes, FFIV is a starting point.
    Anyway you can archieve every game even FF VIII-like, Graphics are not the most important, right?

     
    • infamous bon bon

      February 1, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      Like beauty, graphics fade with age, but great story and gameplay last forever.

      Pokemon was great, but has gotten repetitive and Chrono Trigger is probably one the best games ever made. I do love the Donkey Kong and Mario games. Have you played Donkey Kong Country Returns? That game is brutal hard.

      That had to be rough waiting for games to be translated to Spanish. I use to go crazy waiting for Japanese games to be translated to English and you probably had to wait longer than that with most games.

      Its cool that you can speak Spanish and English. Like many of my fellow ignorant citizens of the U.S. I only know a bastardized version of English. I should really learn another language.

       
      • Ramiro

        February 1, 2012 at 6:51 pm

        I would like to play the “Returns” version, but I only had the SNES as a Nintendo home console.
        I didn’t have another console, most of the time because I’m studying in a city a bit far from where I lived as a child, so I have to keep up my study and life needs (all kind of payments)
        Si I can’t affort a Console, at least now.
        In Argentina video games are expensive, really expensive (unless you use pirate games)
        But with games like Super smash bros it’s a shame to piracy, you know.
        And consoles are expensive anyway.
        Waiting to Spanish translations ? Well, almost never we can receibe an spanish version,
        some companies (like Atlus, or square) refuses to give to us spanish titles, because they say that in america piracy doesn’t allow that, so what happens? pirates makes spanish cds from games made in Spain, and the cycle is infinite…
        Learning English is a must for me anyway, I’m an informatics student, so, no english means no work xD

         
      • infamous bon bon

        February 1, 2012 at 7:14 pm

        I should ammend my previous statement. Most of the white people only speak English, we actually have a significant Spanish speaking population.

        It seems foolish for game companies to not tap into that market in the U.S. at the very least (although the recent economic disaster thrust a lot of the ones who had gotten out of poverty back into poverty). Its a shame piracy is such a problem there, but like you said if they keep not translating that will never go away.

        Bummer you can’t afford a Wii yet because the Virtual Console is one of my favorite things. I’ve been able to expose my kids and my step-son (he’s 12) to some great games because of it.

         
  2. Condos

    June 5, 2016 at 8:29 am

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?

    A number of my blog readers have complained about my
    site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks
    great in Safari. Do you have any recommendations
    to help fix this problem?

     
    • infamous bon bon

      June 7, 2016 at 9:51 pm

      No one has ever expressed any issues with web browsers, so I’ve never had to worry about that. It is just a standard WordPress blog, maybe it was just because I kept it simple.

       
  3. Zummo

    March 24, 2017 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks meant for providing like good written content.

     

Leave a Reply

 
