RSS

How to make a Weaponsmith Shop using Yanfly’s Common Event Shop Script.

28 Jan

I made this instruction guide for this post on www.rpgmakervxace.net, but by the time I finished making it someone else already showed him how.  But here it is anyway.

You can find the script here under Menu scripts

This is the Common Event you would need to set up to make the Bronze Lance.  Notice I call the shop Common Event at the end to return the player to the shop after the purchase is completed and/ or update the variables.  Of course you would want to do some sounds, events (like have the guy go over to the anvil and pound away or something then come back), and/ or animations before returning to the shop otherwise it would be pointless to use the <exit shop> tag

This the Common Event you would set up to call the shop so that it will update the variables correctly.

This is how to set up the event which calls the shop and how I set up the variables.  You don’t need to use the Variables condition, I just had that selected so I could put the variable window in the same image.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is what all this hard work ends up looking like in the Shop itself. In the right hand window it shows the player how much of each of the ingredients, that are needed, that the player currently has.  The icon for the bronze lance doesn’t really match, but I didn’t have a bronze lance icon to use.

The common events could then be copied and pasted then modified for each item you wanted to create with minor changes. Don’t forget to add the additional variables if used to the shop common event.

This is very basic and eventually when I have the full version of Ace I will update this to show a more advanced multiscript version of this and maybe post a demo.

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2012 in RPG Maker, Script Use

 

14 responses to “How to make a Weaponsmith Shop using Yanfly’s Common Event Shop Script.

  1. crimexx

    February 15, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I thought about doing something similar to this as a tutorial but you beat me to it!!

     
  2. infamous bon bon

    February 15, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I haven’t gone to the depth I would like to with this yet. I need to determine if I can use this to spend Yanfly’s JP and/ or Fomar0153’s AP. If I can figure out a way to use them that works I plan on expanding this further.
    There’s plenty of other good ways to use this script too.

     
  3. Sly

    February 17, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    How would one make the item ingredients appear in the window next to their name.

     
    • infamous bon bon

      February 18, 2012 at 1:37 am

      Put “shop variables: x, x,…” in a comment of the common event for each item you want to make, where x equals the variable’s number. shop variables needs to be in brackets, not quotes, but I don’t know how to make them display in this reply

      Make sure to name the variables whatever the ingredients are.

      Set the variables amount by using a script call in the Variable Operation event command using this script call:

      $game_party.item_number($data_items[x])

      where x equals the items id in the database.

      I really need to update this tutorial because I really should have explained that more thoroughly in the original post.

       
  4. hamsterpirateninjas

    June 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    Is the script unable to use weapons as a requirement? I put this in:

    $game_party.item_number($data_weapons[1]) > 0

    But nothing happens. :/ Is there a problem with my Syntax?

     
    • infamous bon bon

      June 1, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      The syntax looks right. When you say nothing happens, what do you mean exactly? Is the ability to craft not enabled, does it let you craft even if you don’t have the weapon in your inventory, or some other kind of nothing happens?

      I will try to post a project within the next 48 hours to use as an example.

       
  5. hamsterpirateninjas

    June 1, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    It allows me to craft the item even though I don’t have weapon[1] in my inventory or equipped. It essentially appears to ignore that line.

     
    • hamsterpirateninjas

      June 1, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      I can bypass it by putting in a conditional branch in to make it unable to be crafted if I don’t have weapon 1 in my inventory, but the selection will still light up and make the noise like it succeeded, so it’ll appear sloppy. 😛

       
  6. infamous bon bon

    June 2, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Okay here http://www.mediafire.com/?8ezfa9xrubyb1ij is a project that uses armor for crafting, but I did double check that weapons work.
    One thing that I did notice was that my screen shot used the || instead of && when using the shop enab eval so that may have been part of the problem. || basically means “or” while “&&” basically means “and” which makes more sense most of the time.
    I hope that helps and feel free to ask questions if there is still problems.

     
    • infamous bon bon

      June 2, 2012 at 3:46 am

      I will be updating this tutorial (hopefully soon) so that it uses this project as its example.

       
  7. hamsterpirateninjas

    June 6, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Thanks for the tutorial, it helped me debug my issue. ^^ Great job, this is gonna be fantastic. ^^

     
  8. Koru

    June 28, 2012 at 5:16 am

    I’m having a really odd issue. I’m laying out my common events almost exactly as yours, just with my items obviously and using && instead of ||. I tell it to remove the required items and add the created item right before the call for CE Shop 1, but while it does add the item I’m looking for it to craft, it doesn’t do anything to my other items. Right now I have it set up where a certain herb + a vial makes an antidote. I get the antidote but the herbs and vials aren’t decreasing even though I used the event process to decrease each by one with the event. How is this happening?

     
    • infamous bon bon

      June 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      I can’t think of anything obvious that would be causing that. Send me a link with either some screen shots of your events (be sure to include all common events that are associated with this) or your project and I may be able to diagnosis the problem. If you don’t want to post it here you can send it to my e-mail: infamousbonbon@live.com

       

Leave a Reply

 
